Our Team

Paws for Hope is a small team passionate about animals and their ongoing care and protection. We’re even more passionate about finding a way to make animal welfare more sustainable in B.C. so we’re not stuck heads-down in emergency response mode unable to plan and build for the long term, especially important in a region that receives no government funding and sometimes limited corporate support for these animals.

Kathy Powelson, Executive Director | kathy@pawsforhope.org | 604-396-9297

Cassie Preston, No Pet Left Behind, Coordinator | cassie@pawsforhope.org | 604-506-9297

Alex Evans, Community Coordinator, Salmon Arm | alex@pawsforhope.org

Maxine Haberl, SpayAid Coordinator | spayaid@pawsforhope.org | 778-991-SPAY (7729)

Marshall Watson, Communications Coordinator | marshall@pawsforhope.org


Board of Directors

Wendy Riley, President | wendy@pawsforhope.org

Wendy has long been an animal lover, ask anyone who knew her as a child and they can attest to Wendy arranging for them to take in one of the many stray, and or injured animals that she continually was bringing in off the streets of Montreal, Quebec in the 1970’s. Fast forward to many years later and Wendy is still bringing animals home, this time to live out their life, on her and her husband’s 22 acre patch of heaven know as the R&R Ranch, where senior and special needs animals of all kinds find their happy ending. Wendy has served as a board of director, volunteer, and community development  coordinator for various rescues and shelters in the province of B.C. since 2010. Wendy stays busy as an entrepreneur, volunteer, and caregiver for the over 20 animals at the R&R Ranch, and hopes to make a positive impact on the many lives of animals that cross her path.

Wendy is honoured and excited to be part of the “Paws for Hope ” organization, and believes working together, we can make a difference to animal’s lives in British Columbia, and across Canada.

Breanna Laubach, Vice President | breanna@pawsforhope.org

Breanna was born and raised in North Vancouver, BC and has always shared her life with pets. Her life-long love of animals inspired her to become involved with Paws For Hope. With a background in communication, her goals are to bring her resourcefulness and creativity to benefit the growth and longevity of the Foundation. Although Breanna’s main focus is for the welfare of companion animals within British Columbia, her love and support reaches a number of wildlife organizations from Oregon to Australia, where facilities focus on the research and preservation of unique and endangered animals such as koalas and sloths.

Lexy Mcleod, Treasurer | lexy@pawsforhope.org

 

Tessah Clark, Secretary | tessah@pawsforhope.org

 

Shawn Llewellyn, Director | shawn@pawsforhope.org

Dr. Shawn Llewellyn is a practicing veterinarian and managing partner at Scottsdale Veterinary Hospital in Surrey, BC. He graduated with honours in Animal Sciences from Dalhousie University’s Faculty of Agriculture and received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the Atlantic Veterinary College at the University of Prince Edward Island.

Shawn has been a Board member with Paws for Hope since its founding year, serving as Board President for five of those years. He has been integral in the development and implementation of our veterinary related programs and services, and is our primary veterinarian and Clinic Director.

Shawn is a past member of the Animal Welfare Committee’s for both the Society of British Columbia Veterinarians (SBCV) and the College of Veterinarians of B.C. (CVBC). He is a current member of the CVBC’s Investigation Committee.

Shawn has received the Governor General’s Academic Award, the Christopher Award in Animal Welfare, and the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association’s Humane Award for his involvement and work on animal welfare matters over the past 15 years.

Shawn lives in North Vancouver with his partner and cats, Kyla and Casey.

Cynthia Boulter, Director | cynthia@pawsforhope.org

An animal lover and rescuer from a young age, Cynthia is keen to put her experience to work as a Director at Paws for Hope with a focus on fundraising and organizational efficiency. Cynthia grew up with cats as a child, became a horse lover and dedicated equestrian growing up, and then added dogs to her life in her twenties. Largely an extrovert, but with the core of an introvert, Cynthia is happiest in the company of animals.

As Chief Operating Officer of the Greater Vancouver Food Bank, Cynthia leads the Development, Community Events, Communications, Distribution and Community Agency teams. Her career includes experience in operations and client services, people leadership and team building, business development and key account management, and P&L responsibility with companies such as Morneau Shepell, TELUS, Accenture Business Services for Utilities/BC Hydro, the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board and Mackenzie Financial Corporation.

Ayla White | ayla@pawsforhope.org

 

Anna White | anna@pawsforhope.org

 

Karen Sloat | karen@pawsforhope.org